1. We Help Customers
  2. How to Administer RapidLMS

How Do I Create A Course?

Learn about creating RapidLMS courses in your storefront.

Create a New Course

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to "Uploaded Courses" in the Courses section of your account and click the [+ New Course] button at the top of the course list.

The pop up window will let you add most of the course details and items and get your course added to the storefront.

Some settings, like certificates and license expiry, and features, like Exams, Instructor-led Training, and Graded Assignments will need to be added after the initial set up.

The Basics tab will allow you to enter the details about your course, such as name, description, and add a product image.

You will be able to edit these details after creation.

The Contents tab lets you add course items, such as SCORM packages, audio or video files, or documents.

You will be able to edit these details after creation.

Adding links, Course Agreements, Exams, Instructor-Led Training, or Graded Assignments will be done after initial course set up.

The Ownership tab allows you to indicate who owns the course; if you want to sell the course on a storefront, or allow any other administrators access to manage, edit, or distribute the course, ownership should be set to an organization.

You cannot adjust Ownership settings - if a change is needed you will need to create a new course.

Using the Pricing tab, set up the payment details of the course for the storefront, such as cost, bulk discounts, SKUs, and which storefronts will sell your course.

You will be able to edit these details after creation.

You can manually license and distribute a course to learners and training managers even if it's not added to a storefront.

If you have the course added to a storefront, it will become available for registration as soon as you click "Save."

If you want to make some course changes, add certificates, expiry, or any of the other advanced course items, you can leave the storefront section blank and update later.

Edit a Course

Changes that are made to RapidLMS courses occur as soon as the Save button is clicked.

If a learner has already started a course, any changes to course items will not be made to their course.

For Example If Learner A buys Course 1 on January 1 and a new module is added on January 2, Learner A will not get that new module. If Learner B buys Course 1 on January 3, they will get the new module.

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to "Uploaded Courses" in the Courses section of your account and click the Edit button next to the course.

The Basics tab is largely the same as creating a new course, but you can set an expiry time-period or date

Use the license expiry if training needs to be done within a specific amount of time from purchase or before a certain date.

More on License Expiry.

The Contents tab will let you rename and reorganize the course items; you can also add new items with the button at the bottom of the course item list.

You can also require that items be completed in order with the check box on this page; this will mean that each item must be marked complete before the next is available.

Anything that is included on the course item list on the Contents tab will need to be "completed" in order for the course to be finished and any certification issued.

If you have reference materials, use the Resources tab!

Adding links, Course Agreements, Exams, Instructor-Led Training, or Graded Assignments will be done in a separate stage.

The Resources tab lets you add materials that learners may need or want to access, but aren't required for course completion; think about glossaries, reference sheets, indices, etc.

Adding URLs will be done in a separate stage.

The Verification tab contains our LearnerVerified™ tool, which provides solutions for ensuring the correct people are taking the training. For more details, contact your Account or Customer Success Manager.

The Pricing tab will let you fine-tune the payment details or launch the course in your storefront.

The Media tab houses the product image that will be shown in your storefront; if the course is available on a storefront, you can also add a selection of pictures in a carousel.

The Certification tab adds digital badges, wallet cards, and wall certificates to your course; you can also set expiry information.

All certificates require a Digital Badge which will show in the learner's "My Certification" section and the Credential Management App.

If learners need physical wallet sized cards or a more standard 8.5x11 document, these can be set up with HTML.

If the course is added to a storefront, any changes that are made in this page will be live as soon as the Save button is clicked on any tab.

If you are making several changes, you can temporarily remove the course from a storefront and add it back in once the changes have been completed.

Edit a Course - Advanced Features

Administrators in RapidLMS will have two "views" in the back-end of their storefronts; we will be working on migrating all features and functions to the new view, but this is a work in progress!

The Classic view includes the basic course set up, license and training manager management, and reporting.

The newer Venom view includes the advanced features like Exams, Instructor-Led Training, and Graded Assignments.

Bookmark both views for ease of navigation - if you're logged in on one view, you'll be logged in on both!

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to the/vnm view (yourstorefront.rapidlms.com/vnm) and  "Manage Courses" in the Authoring section of your account and click the edit button under the  course; you can also click the "Edit in RapidLMS" button to jump back to the Classic view.

In the Basics tab you can add Exams, Links, Instructor-Led Training, and Graded Assignments; you will also see a list of existing course items.

In the Resources tab you can add URLs; you will also see a list of existing resources.

What Do I Need My Learner to Do With This URL?

URLS can be added as a Course Item or a Resource.

If a learner must click on the link or have access, add it as a Course Item.

If a learner should click on the link or have access, add it as a Resource.

In the Course Agreements tab, you can add a document that learners must read and actively agree to before accessing the course.

Once Advanced Features are added to a course, the can be rearranged or renamed in the course edit page in the Classic view.

Deleting a Course

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to "Uploaded Courses" in the Courses section of your account and click the Delete button next to the course.

A warning with the number of active licenses, grants, and invites will display.

If you're simply wanting no new learners in this course, you may also choose to simply remove a course from your storefront(s) which will allow existing users to access, but will prevent new registrations.

Deleting a course is a permanent, irreversible action.

To confirm the deletion, type the exact course name into the text field.