1. We Help Customers
  2. How to Administer RapidLMS

How Do I Use the Graded Assignment Feature?

Learn about setting up graded assignments and graders.

If you have any course activities or learning objectives that aren't easily handled by multiple-choice exams or SCORM packages, RapidLMS includes a Graded Assignment feature that will help you incorporate more complex assignments into your training.

How Does It Work?

Essentially, Graded Assignments works by creating creating a RapidLMS course item that allows for learners to take a file, complete it outside of RapidLMS then submit to the system for a grader to manually asses and provide a mark.

Administrators upload a single course file to the Graded Assignment item and students download, complete, and submit for grading.

Graders record a numerical score and when completion criteria is met, the course item is marked complete.

Graders are able to provide feedback through a discussion portal.

Setting Up a Graded Assignment For An Existing RapidLMS Course

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to the/vnm view (yourstorefront.rapidlms.com/vnm) and  "Manage Courses" in the Authoring section of your account and click edit for the appropriate course.

At the bottom of the page, click [+ Add Graded Assignment].

Enter the assignment name, number of total marks (points), passing grade and assign the grader(s).

If you don't have any graders set up yet, you can click [+ Add Grader] while creating an assignment.

Enter first and last name and email and the grader will be sent an email.

If your grader already has a RapidLMS account, they'll follow the invite link to get their existing account updated.

If your grader doesn't have a RapidLMS account, they'll follow the invite link and create a new account.

Finally, upload your assignment file; this is limited to a single file, so include all instructions and  pages.

Rearrange the order of course items with the arrows on the right of the page.

What Does A Student See with a Graded Assignment?

Students will see Graded Assignments like any other course item (i.e. title and action button), with one exception: the points will show on the course item line.

Once a learner clicks into the Graded Assignment, the status will update to In Progress and the learner can download, complete, and upload the assignment file.

Once a score is entered by the grader, the learner will see their score on the main course page.

If the score is a passing grade, the course item will mark complete; if the score if not a passing grade, the course item will remain in progress.

If there is any grader feedback, the learner can view this by clicking into the course item.

Learners may submit multiple attempts on assignments.

Managing Graded Assignments

In your RapidLMS account, navigate to the/vnm view (yourstorefront.rapidlms.com/vnm) and  "Dashboard" in the Grading section of your account.

Graders have a special dashboard that helps manage their workflow and they can only view assignments that they have been added to.

The Dashboard has two sections with Assignments to Grade in a section over Unreplied Discussion.

Ungraded Assignments

This section defaults to display assignments that have been submitted, but not graded yet.

Details on the assignment, corresponding course, student and date are displayed, along with a Grade button.

Clicking grade will display a preview of the file with an option to download; the grader can enter the points earned, any feedback, then submit.

Once graded the assignment will disappear from the default ungraded view.

All submitted assignments can be viewed with the View All toggle and details on the grade can be seen with the View button.

Unreplied Discussions

When feedback is provided, students may have some questions or comments which appear as replies.

This section defaults to display comments that have been submitted in the past 5 days without a reply.

Once a reply is sent, the comment will disappear form the dashboard.

As some comments don't need a response, the system is set to filter those from the default view after 5 days.